Internet Resources for Art & Art History


| General | Reference Sources | Image Collections | Other Primary Sources | Artist Indexes | Resources for Artists | Regional Resources | Illustration/Graphic Design | Photography | Sculpture | Architecture | Decorative Arts | Museums & Galleries | Publications, Libraries & Associations |


General Index Sites

  • Timeline of Art History (TOAH) courtesy of the Metropolitan Museum of Art (www.metmuseum.org/toah/splash.htm)
  • Art History via Yahoo! (dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Art_History)
  • Art Periods and Movements via Yahoo! (dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Art_History/Periods_and_Movements)
  • The Art History Browser (www.plinia.net/browser/browser2.html)
  • Art History Research Centre (AHRC) (www.harmsen.net/ahrc)
  • Art History: Resources on the Web by Dr. Christopher Whitcombe (witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html)
  • Mother of All Art and Art History Links Page University of Michigan (www.art-design.umich.edu/mother)
  • Return to Art & Art History Research Guide

    Reference Sources

  • Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art Online) authentication required for off-campus access (libguides.wcsu.edu/databases)
  • ArtCyclopedia (www.artcyclopedia.com)
  • ArtLex: Art Dictionary (www.artlex.com)
  • The Dictionary of Art Historians by Lee Sorensen (www.dictionaryofarthistorians.org)
  • The Getty Provenance Index from the J. Paul Getty Museum (www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/provenance_index)
  • Online Image Collections

  • Timeline of Art History (TOAH) courtesy of the Metropolitan Museum of Art (www.metmuseum.org/toah/splash.htm)
  • Art Project powered by Google (www.googleartproject.com)
  • Art History Resources on the Web by Christopher Witcombe (witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html)
  • Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) by Allan T. Kohl, University of Minnesota (www.arthist.umn.edu/aict/html)
  • Art Renewal Center (ARC) Museum (www.artrenewal.org/pages/search.php)
  • Art Resource registration required (www.artres.com/c/htm/Home.aspx)
  • ArtCyclopedia (www.artcyclopedia.com)
  • ArtServe courtesy of the Australian National University (rubens.anu.edu.au)
  • British Museum: Collection Database Search (www.britishmuseum.org/research/search_the_collection_database.aspx)
  • Bridgeman Art Library authentication required for off-campus access (libguides.wcsu.edu/databases)
  • Explore Art at the J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles (www.getty.edu/art/gettyguide/)
  • Google Image Search enter name of artist and/or title of work (images.google.com)
  • Prints and Photographs Online Catalog at the Library of Congress, Washington D.C. (www.loc.gov/pictures/)
  • NYPL Digital Gallery: Arts & Literature New York Public Library (digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/explore/dgexplore.cfm?topic=arts)
  • Visual Information Access Harvard University Library (via.lib.harvard.edu/via/deliver/collections?_collection=via)
  • WebMuseum, Paris: Famous Artworks (www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint)
  • Web Gallery of Art by Emil Kren and Daniel Marx(www.wga.hu)
  • World Art Treasures Jacques-Edouard Berger Foundation (www.bergerfoundation.ch)
  • Return to Art & Art History Research Guide

    Other Primary Sources

  • Cave of Chauvet-Pont-d'Arc tour prehistoric cave art in France (www.culture.gouv.fr/culture/arcnat/chauvet/en)
  • Harlem Hospital WPA Murals courtesy of Columbia University (www.columbia.edu/cu/iraas/wpa/index.html)
  • New Deal Art During the Great Depression WPA murals and more (www.wpamurals.com)
  • Turning the Pages: Leonardo's Notebook British Library - takes time to load (www.bl.uk/collections/treasures/leonardo/leonardo_broadband.htm)
  • Vincent Van Gogh: The Letters Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam (vangoghletters.org/vg)

    Artist Indexes

  • Artists: Masters via Yahoo! (dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Artists/Masters)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA) (www.nmwa.org)
  • Painters by Name in Wikipedia (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_painters)
  • WebMuseum: Artist Index (www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/auth)
  • Resources for Artists

  • Artnet.com auctions, galleries, prices, and more (www.artnet.com")
  • Art & Design in the New York Times (www.nytimes.com/pages/arts/design/index.html)
  • AskART: The American Artists Bluebook (www.askart.com/AskART/index.aspx)
  • Regional Resources

  • Arts by Region via Yahoo! (dir.yahoo.com/Arts/By_Region)
  • African Art at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=Africa)
  • Ancient Near Eastern Art at the Metropolitcan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=7)
  • Archives of American Art Smithsonian Institutions (artarchives.si.edu)
  • Art in Ancient Greece in Wikipedia (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Art_in_Ancient_Greece)
  • Art of the Americas at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=8)
  • Asian Art at the Metroplitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=Asia)
  • Asian Arts (www.asianart.com/index.html)
  • Byzantine Art at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=13)
  • Classical Art Research Centre, the Beazley Archive, University of Oxford (www.beazley.ox.ac.uk/index.htm)
  • Discovering Buddhist Art Seattle Art Museum (www.seattleartmuseum.org/exhibit/interactives/buddhism/enter.asp#)
  • Egyptian Art at the Metropolitcan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=14)
  • European Art at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=Europe)
  • Greek and Roman Art at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=20)
  • Islamic Art at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=Islamic)
  • Islamic Arts and Architecture (www.islamicart.com)
  • Japanese Art (www.japaneseart.org)
  • Oceanic/Pacific Art at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=24)
  • Prehistoric Art at the Metroplitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/te_index.asp?i=25)
  • Return to Art & Art History Research Guide

    Photography

  • The American Museum of Photography (www.photographymuseum.com)
  • Photography at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/toah/hi/hi_ph.htm)
  • Photography at the Victoria & Albert Museum, London (www.vam.ac.uk/collections/photography/index.html)
  • Photographers in Wikipedia (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_photographers)
  • Photography Homepages (www.photographyhomepages.com)
  • Photographs at the J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles (www.getty.edu/art/gettyguide/exploreArt?typ=2033125)
  • Photo Study Collection and Database Getty Museum, Los Angeles (www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/photo_study_collection)
  • Prints and Photographs Online Catalog at the Library of Congress (www.loc.gov/pictures)
  • Smithsonian Photography Initiative (www.spi.si.edu)
  • Return to Art & Art History Research Guide

    Sculpture

  • Sculpture in Yahoo! (dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Visual_Arts/Sculpture)
  • Sculptors in Wikipedia (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_sculptors)
  • International Directory of Sculpture Parks (www.artnut.com/intl.html)
  • The Calder Foundation (www.calder.org)
  • The Noguchi Museum Long Island City, NY (www.noguchi.org)
  • European Sculpture and Decorative Arts at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/Works_of_Art/european_sculpture_and_decorative_arts)
  • Architecture

  • Architects in Wikipedia (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_architects)
  • Architecture.com Royal Institute of British Architects (www.architecture.com/go/Architecture/Home.html)
  • Cities and Buildings Database University of Washington Libraries (content.lib.washington.edu/buildingsweb/index.html)
  • Digital Archive of Architecture Prof. Jeffery Howe, Boston College (www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/cas/fnart/arch)
  • The Great Buildings Collection with models (www.greatbuildings.com)
  • Structurae (en.structurae.de/index.cfm)
  • Traditional Japanese Architecture (academic.csuohio.edu/makelaa/lectures/architecture/index.html)
  • Yin Yu Tang: A Chinese Home (www.pem.org/yinyutang)
  • Return to Art & Art History Research Guide

    Decorative Arts

  • American Decorative Arts at the Metropolitan Museum (www.metmuseum.org/works_of_Art/department.asp?dep=1)
  • The Decorative Arts Trust (www.decorativeartstrust.org)
  • Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts at the British Library (www.bl.uk/catalogues/illuminatedmanuscripts/introduction.asp)
  • Database of Bookbindings at the British Library (www.bl.uk/catalogues/bookbindings)
  • Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture University of Wisconsin-Madison (decorativearts.library.wisc.edu)
  • Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) in London (www.vam.ac.uk/index.html)
  • Ceramics Today (www.ceramicstoday.com)
  • Chinese Ceramics Pacific Asia Museum (www.pacificasiamuseum.org/chineseceramics)
  • Clay Art Web Guide by Vicki Hardin (vickihardin.com/links/index.htm)
  • e-Yakimono (www.e-yakimoto.net)
  • Museums & Galleries

  • Art Museums, Galleries, and Centers via Yahoo! (dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Museums__Galleries__and_Centers)
  • Art Museum Network (AMN) (www.amn.org)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (www.artic.edu)
  • Art Museum of the Americas in Washington D.C. (www.museum.oas.org)
  • Brooklyn Museum (www.brooklynmuseum.org)
  • Cleveland Museum of Art (www.clevelandart.org)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. (www.corcoran.org)
  • Freer Gallery of Art Smithsonian/Washington, D.C. (www.asia.si.edu/collections/default.htm)
  • Frick Collection & Frick Art Reference Library in Manhattan (www.frick.org)
  • Guggenheim Museum, New York (www.guggenheim.org/new-york)
  • Harvard University Art Museum Cambridge, Massachusetts (www.harvardartmuseum.org)
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington D.C. (hirshhorn.si.edu)
  • Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston (www.gardnermuseum.org)
  • Jewish Museum, New York (www.jewishmuseum.org)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art in Manhattan (www.metmuseum.org)
  • Morgan Library and Museum (www.themorgan.org/home.asp)
  • Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in Manhattan (www.moma.org)
  • Museum of Fine Arts, Boston (www.mfa.org)
  • National Gallery of Art - Collection in Washington D.C. (www.nga.gov/collection)
  • National Museum of the American Indian in New York and Washington D.C., Smithsonian (www.nmai.si.edu)
  • National Portrait Gallery Smithsonian, Washington D.C. (www.npg.si.edu)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (www.philamuseum.org)
  • Phillips Collection Washington D.C. (www.phillipscollection.org)
  • Princeton University Art Museum (www.princetonartmuseum.org)
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum in Washington D.C. (americanart.si.edu)
  • Wadsworth Athenaeum Museum of Art in Hartford (www.wadsworthatheneum.org)
  • Whitney Museum of American Art in Manhattan (www.whitney.org)
  • Yale Center for British Art in New Haven (ycba.yale.edu/index.asp)
  • Yale University Art Gallery in New Haven (artgallery.yale.edu)
  • The British Museum in London (www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk)
  • Chateau de Versailles in France (en.chateauversailles.fr/homepage)
  • Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao in Spain (www.guggenheim-bilbao.es/?idioma=en)
  • Louvre in Paris (www.louvre.fr/llv/commun/home_flash.jsp)
  • Musée d'Orsay in Paris (www.musee-orsay.fr/en/home.html)
  • Museo del Prado in Madrid (www.museodelprado.es/en/)
  • Museu Picasso in Barcelona (www.museupicasso.bcn.es/en)
  • National Gallery, London (www.nationalgallery.org.uk)
  • National Portrait Gallery in London (www.npg.org.uk)
  • Tate Gallery in London (www.tate.org.uk)
  • Uffizi Gallery in Florence (www.polomuseale.firenze.it/english/musei/uffizi)
  • Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam (www.vangoghmuseum.nl/vgm/index.jsp)
  • Vatican Museums in Rome (mv.vatican.va/3_EN/pages/MV_Home.html)
  • Victoria & Albert Museum in London (www.vam.ac.uk)
  • Publications, Libraries, Organizations & Associations

  • College Art Association (CAA) publications (www.collegeart.org/publications)
  • American Art journal of the Smithsonian American Art Museum (www.journals.uchicago.edu/AmArt/journal)
  • Artdaily.com online art newspaper (www.artdaily.com/index.asp)
  • Illustration Magazine (www.illustration-magazine.com)
  • Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide (www.19thc-artworldwide.org)
  • Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS) (www.arlisna.org)
  • Asslociation of Art Historians (AAH) (www.aah.org.uk)
  • College Art Association (CAA) (www.collegeart.org)
  • International Directory of Art Libraries IFLA (artlibrary.vassar.edu/ifla-idal)
  • National Art Education Association (NAEA) (www.arteducators.org/olc/pub/NAEA/research/research_page_16.html)
  • National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD) (nasad.arts-accredit.org)
  • National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) (arts.endow.gov)
  • Society of Illustrators (www.societyillustrators.org)
  • Return to Art & Art History Research Guide


    Please send your comments to Joan Reitz, Haas Instruction Librarian, Western Connecticut State University.
    reitzj@wcsu.edu
    Last updated on August 17, 2011.